Canberra Symphony Orchestra – Classic Afternoon: The Elements

The ancient Greeks believed all of matter was essentially comprised of earth, water, air and fire. These elements undergirded philosophy, science and medicine for over two millennia.

Directed by Concertmaster Kirsten Williams, the orchestra explores each element in this program: taking to the sky with Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending, before diving into the tempestuous waters of Welsh composer Grace Williams’ Sea Sketches and bristling with Haydn’s spirited Fire symphony.

The element of earth takes on new meaning and urgency with a commission from Kim Cunio that seeks to make musical sense of the quandary of climate change.

Saturday 19 June, 2021
Llewellyn Hall, ANU, 2pm

Kirsten Williams Director, Violin
Canberra Symphony Orchestra

Grace Williams
Sea Sketches

Ralph Vaughan Williams OM
The Lark Ascending

Kim Cunio
CO2 and the Ice Core
World premiere, CSO commission

Joseph Haydn
Symphony No. 59 in A major ‘Fire’

Adult – $59-101
Concession – $48-89
Under 30 – $30

Book two or more concerts to enjoy the benefits of a CSO subscription, including discounted ticket prices. Or, book this concert as part of the CSO’s Autumn Sale to get 20% off all seating reserves.

Liked it? Take a second to support BMA Magazine on Patreon!

Sat Jun 19
2:00 pm – 3:30 pm

Llewellyn Hall

Leave a Reply